A hard blow against organized crime in Sincelejo was dealt by the Attorney General’s Office since 13 alleged members of the Erlin Pino Duarte Structure, a Sub-Structure of Manuel José Gaitán that apparently commits crimes for the so-called Clan del Golfo, were prosecuted.

According to the investigation that was carried out by a special prosecutor since June 2020, the people arrested by the CTI of the Prosecutor’s Office, National Police and the Navy, would be part of a criminal group, allegedly responsible for selective homicides committed in the municipalities de Galeras, Sincé, Betulia and Corozal (Sucre).

At least 12 deaths that occurred this year are attributed to this organization. They would also be responsible for the sale of narcotics in different areas of this population.

A Judge in Galeras (Sucre) accepted the arguments presented by the Prosecutor’s Office and he imposed prison sentences. The defendants were charged with aggravated homicide, drug trafficking and aggravated conspiracy.

The defendants are:

  1. Daiber José Jaraba Tovar
  2. Eduardo José Olivera Oviedo
  3. Levis Esther Mejía Montes
  4. Yesid de Jesús Guarín Vergara
  5. Israel Ricardo Cardeño Jaraba
  6. Jaime Luis Peña Mercado
  7. Carlos Mario Herazo Díaz
  8. Yessica Paola Novoa Guzmán
  9. Julio César Quiroz de la Ossa
  10. José del Cristo Payares Anaya
  11. Marcos Antonio Hernández Olascuaga
  12. Jaime Rafael Meza Galván and
  13. Cristian de Jesús Mercado Tovar.

These people will serve their sentence in La Vega prison in Sincelejo.

When we speak, results follow.

The information contained in this press release corresponds to the narration of the objective news provided by the officials in charge of carrying out the criminal investigations within the Office of the Attorney General. By the time this communication is disclosed, the legal status of the people mentioned is still pending to be resolved by the competent judicial authority, always under the presumption of innocence contemplated by Article 29 of the Political Constitution and Article 7 of Law 906 of 2004.